Tag: 上海后花园QF

Cunningham Named 2018 Southland Volleyball Player of the Year

first_img2018 Southland Volleyball Tournament Central Samantha Anderson2 Sr. RS Central Arkansas Tyler, Texas The all-conference teams were led by Stephen F. Austin and Central Arkansas who each placed three players on the all-conference squads. Sam Houston State, Houston Baptist and Abilene Christian all came in next placing two members apiece on the postseason teams. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Incarnate Word, McNeese and New Orleans each landed one member to the All-Conference selections. Stephen F. Austin’s Debbie Humphreys earned her second consecutive Southland Coach of the Year honor, the seventh of her career. Humphreys coached the Ladyjacks to a perfect 16-0 mark in regular-season conference contests. SFA heads into Friday’s postseason play as the tournament’s No. 1 seed riding a 26-match win-streak, the longest active win-streak in the nation. New Orleans’ Ehize Omoghibo grabbed Newcomer of the Year after joining the Privateers for her junior season. Omoghibo notched 179 kills and 82 blocks, which ranks second on her squad. Mikayla Vivens So. OH Houston Baptist San Antonio, Texas Joining Cunningham among the individual award-winners is teammate Madison Wallace who was named the Southland’s Libero of the Year. After beginning the season at the outside hitter and middle blocker positions, Wallace moved into the libero role nine games into the season. After making the switch, the senior led Sam Houston State to a 16-3 record. Wallace led the conference with 39 aces and 490 digs. Jacey Smith Sr. OH Abilene Christian Wimberley, Texas Cunningham had an explosive season where she earned six Southland Player of the Week accolades, two of which came in week five where she received both offensive and defensive awards. The senior closed out regular-season play leading the Southland in points per set (4.62) and kills per set (3.9). Cunningham’s 394 kills ranked second in the conference and led the Bearkats’ through their conference slate. FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State senior middle blocker Taylor Cunningham has claimed the 2018 Southland Conference Volleyball Player of the Year, conference officials announced Wednesday. Accompanying the announcement, the conference also released its 2018 All-Conference volleyball honorees. Channing Burleson2 Sr. OH/L Northwestern State Midland, Texas Danae Daron2 Jr. MB Stephen F. Austin Crosby, Texas Kaitlyn Grice Sr. MB New Orleans Valrico, Fla. Taylor Cunningham3 Sr. MB Sam Houston State Huntsville, Texas All Individual superlative winners and all-conference honorees will be recognized before their first matches at the 2018 Southland Conference Volleyball Tournament in Natchitoches, La., taking place Nov. 16-18. All-Conference First Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown Madison O’brien Sr. S Houston Baptist Cleveland, Texascenter_img Savannah Allen Sr. MB Central Arkansas St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada Player of the Year: Taylor Cunningham, Sam Houston StateFreshman of the Year: Bethany Clapp, Incarnate WordNewcomer of the Year: Ehize Omoghibo, New OrleansLibero of the Year: Madison Wallace, Sam Houston StateSetter of the Year: Ann Hollas, Stephen F. AustinCoach of the Year: Debbie Humphreys, Stephen F. Austin Ann Hollas Jr. S Stephen F. Austin Longview, Texas Haley Coleman2 Sr. OH Stephen F. Austin Rockwall, Texas All-Conference Second Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Kendall Bosse Sr. S Abilene Christian Ingram, Texas Bethany Clapp Fr. OH Incarnate Word Corpus Christi, Texas Hannah Brister So. OH Northwestern State Paincourtville, La. Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown 2 – Two-Time Selection3 – Three-Time SelectionHonorable Mention: Makenzee Hanna, Stephen F. Austin; Breanne Chausse, Sam Houston State; Rachel Young, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi; Emily Doss, Central Arkansas; Lauren Walker, Abilene Christian; Blessing Dunn, New Orleans; Jaclyn Ward, Sam Houston State; Madeline Drake, Northwestern State Madison Wallace Sr. OH/RS/L Sam Houston State Pasadena, Texas Stephen F. Austin’s Ann Hollas was tabbed the Setter of the Year after dealing out 675 assists for a 6.37 average to lead the Ladyjack roster. Hollas also registered 219 points, 280 digs and 24 service aces throughout SFA’s impressive 29-2 regular-season campaign. Incarnate Word’s Bethany Clapp was crowned the Southland’s Freshman of the Year. Clapp was also named First Team All-Conference following the Cardinal’s 27-game schedule where she led UIW with 324 kills and 22 aces. Keegan Nelms Jr. OH McNeese Santa Fe, Texas Madison Green Jr. RS/S Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Dripping Springs, Texas Haley Tippett Sr. OH Central Arkansas Roanoke, Texaslast_img read more